Hall of Honor Inductees

  • Hall of Honor

    When you think of successful Caldwell County school graduates, accomplished in all walks of life, these are the individuals whose plaques line the hallway at the Education Center and in every school in the district. Currently, the Hall of Honor distinguishes 80 Caldwell County graduates who have made significant contributions to their profession and/or community and who have maintained exemplary character throughout their experiences and careers beyond high school.

    A nominee must meet one of the following criteria to be considered as a candidate for the Hall of Honor: 1) be a graduate of a Caldwell County Schools, 2) while attending Caldwell County Schools was admitted to the NC School of Mathematics and Science or the NC School of the Arts and received a high school diploma from that institution, or 3)ended his/her secondary education as a Caldwell County Schools student, did not receive a high school diploma, but did receive a post-secondary degree from an institution of higher learning.

    The Hall of Honor selection committee, consisting of representatives from each high school district, the school system and the community, may select up to five inductees each year. Once a nomination form is received, the nomination may be considered for five years.

    For more information, contact the Community Services Department at 828.728-8407.

  • Annual Event:

    The Caldwell County Schools will present the 17th Annual Hall of Honor induction ceremony on Monday, April 15, 6:00 pm at the JE Broyhill Civic Center in celebration of Caldwell County graduates who have made significant personal and professional contributions to their community.

    Congratulations to the 2019 inductees: Dr. Scott Douglas Beane, Ernestine Horton Paschall Shade, and Larry Wilson Taylor. The posthumous award will be presented to the family of Harold Hugo Beach.
    Tickets are on sale now until April 8 for $20 each at the Education Center located at 1914 Hickory Blvd., SW, Lenoir.

    Comments (-1)
  • Nominations:

    The public is invited to nominate outstanding Caldwell County graduates for the Caldwell County Schools Hall of Honor. Nomination forms are available at the Education Center, 1914 Hickory Blvd, Lenoir or Hall of Honor Nomination Form

    Comments (-1)
  • The 2018 Hall of Honor Inductees:

    Robert O. (Bob) Floyd, Jr., Gregory Paul Knight, and Cecil E. (Sonny) Viverette, Jr.
    Posthumous award presented to the family of Mary Hood Thompson.2018 Hall of Honor Inductees

    Pictured from left:
    David Moore, representing the Mary Hood Thompson family; Gregory P. Knight; Cecil E. (Sonny) Viverette; and Robert O. (Bob) Floyd, Jr.