Return to Headlines

Finance Department Receives Highest Honors

The Caldwell County Schools Finance Department received the highest level of recognition from the Association of School Business Officials International with a Certificate of Excellence in Financial Reporting and the Government Finance Officers Association of the United States and Canada Certificate of Achievement for Excellence in Financial Reporting.

Both awards represent the highest forms of recognition in the area of governmental accounting and financial reporting and reflect a significant accomplishment by the Caldwell County School System Finance Department. This is the 17th consecutive year that the school district’s finance department has been recognized for its excellent accounting practices.

The awards are judged by an impartial panel to meet the high standards of the program by demonstrating the “spirit of full disclosure” and clearly communicating an organization’s financial story.

“The Finance Department is proud to be recognized for its combined efforts in working toward operational excellence,” said Finance Officer David Johnson. “These awards reflect the fidelity and the credibility of the daily financial transactions that are conducted at the highest level of performance. The staff, from school bookkeepers to the Education Center finance team, strive to practice efficiency and fiscal responsibility at every level.”

The Board of Education recognized the school district’s finance department at the October School Board meeting. The finance department is supervised by Finance Officer David Johnson and the department includes Denise Bolick, Accountant; Susan Duncan, Payroll Deduction Specialist; Linda Young, Payroll Specialist; Jamie Setzer, Accounts Payable Specialist; Sara Smith, Accounts Payable Specialist; Melinda Mullis, Accounts Payable Specialist and Michelle Brittain, Purchasing Specialist.