Return to Headlines

Bolick is Finalist in NC Teacher of the Year

South Caldwell High School Spanish teacher Shea Bolick was recognized as a finalist in the prestigious 2023 Burroughs Wellcome Fund North Carolina Teacher of the Year ceremony held today in Raleigh. Bolick was selected as the Northwest Region Teacher of the Year in 2023, one of nine regional and charter school finalists.

The award represents 54 years of selection as a Teacher of the Year in North Carolina, and the title in 2023 was awarded to North Central District finalist Kimberly Jones of Chapel Hill High School.

The nine teachers from across North Carolina were selected as the state’s regional Teachers of the Year for their dedication, innovation and ability to inspire students to achieve. 

Bolick, who has 22 years of experience in the classroom and seven at South Caldwell High School where she currently teaches, expressed her belief in qualities that contribute to being a successful teacher, “If we’re expecting excitement and growth out of students, then we should expect that out of educators.”

The 2023 North Carolina Regional Teachers of the Year are:

  • Northeast: Casey Schulte, Bath Elementary (Beaufort County Schools)
  • Sandhills: Teena Robinson, Mineral Springs Elementary (Richmond County Schools)
  • Northwest: Shea Bolick, South Caldwell High (Caldwell County Schools)
  • Piedmont-Triad: Tiffany Wynn, Thomasville Middle (Thomasville City Schools)
  • Southeast: Laura Wilson, Roger Bell New Tech Academy (Craven County Schools)
  • North Central: Kimberly Jones, Chapel Hill High (Chapel Hill-Carrboro City Schools)
  • Western: Rachael Ray, Madison High (Madison County Schools)
  • Southwest: Rachel Frye, East Lincoln High (Lincoln County Schools)
  • Charter School: Ryan Henderson, Sugar Creek Charter School

“Congratulations to all nine regional Teachers of the Year and to Kimberly Jones, the 2023 NC Teacher of the Year and especially to Shea Bolick, Caldwell County teacher, Northwest Teacher of the Year and finalist in the state selection for Teacher of the Year,” said Superintendent Dr. Don Phipps. “We’re very proud of her accomplishments and the exemplary role model she is for the teaching profession.”