Return to Headlines

Former Graduates Inducted in the Caldwell County Schools Hall of Honor

Four outstanding alumni were inducted into the prestigious Caldwell County Schools Hall of Honor at the 20th annual event held on Monday, Sept. 25 at the JE Broyhill Civic Center in Lenoir, a momentous occasion that celebrates the exceptional contributions and unwavering dedication of former graduates who have made a profound impact on the lives of countless individuals.

The inductees for 2023 are Joseph "Joe" Lindsay Gibbons, Dr. Wayne Hollar, Jr. DDS, R. Edgar "Ed" Whitener, and Gary Dean Poe, posthumously.

The Caldwell County Schools Hall of Honor program recognizes the achievements and contributions of its exceptional graduates. Each year, an induction ceremony and dinner are held in October and inductees are presented with a beautiful plaque and medallion.

This year’s event sponsors are Broyhill Family Foundation, A-1 Pest Control, James Miller and Pat Whisnant, Ideal Office Worx, and the Education Foundation Inc. of Caldwell County.

To be selected into the Hall of Honor, a committee with representatives from each high school attendance area in the county meets annually to review nominations. A nominee must meet one of the following criteria to be considered as a candidate for the Hall of Honor: 1) be a graduate of Caldwell County Schools, 2) while attending Caldwell County Schools was admitted to the NC School of Mathematics and Science or the NC School of the Arts and received a high school diploma from that institution, or 3) ended his/her secondary education as a Caldwell County Schools student, did not receive a high school diploma, but did receive a post-secondary degree from an institution of higher learning.

Nomination forms are available year-round at the Education Center at 1914 Hickory Blvd., Lenoir, NC, or online at To be considered for the current calendar year, all forms must be submitted by July 1st to the Education Center.

The program began in 2003, and since then, 100 extraordinary graduates have been inducted into the Caldwell County Schools Hall of Honor.